During this time, I will be available from 1pm to 3pm every day. I can also be reached by email at mshenk@bhm.k12.al.us at any time, and by phone and text at (334) 245-3739. If you send a text, please include your name and your students' name, so I know who I'm talking to! 

    Stay safe Rams!

    Week 1: April 13-April 17 - Students will work with the new vocabulary (Click here) and label their home and take pictures to post on Google Classroom.

    Week 2: April 20-April 24 - Students will take a quiz (Click here) based on the previous week's vocabulary.

    Week 3: April 27-May 1 - Students will draw and label their dream house that includes at least 4 rooms (kitchen, bathroom, bedroom, and one other) with four furniture items per room (bed, stove, oven, window, etc.) (Click here for the rubric.) Students will post a picture of their project on Google Classroom.

    Week 4: May 4-May 8 - Students will take another quiz based on previous weeks' vocabulary.

    Week 5: May 11-May 15 - Students will take a survey.


    Here is a list of all teacher numbers and the times they are available. 

    Remote Hours

    Remote Office Hours  

     Google Certified Educator
    Name: Michael I. Shenk
    Grades: 9-12
    Subject: Spanish I
    Classroom: 409
    Email: mshenk@bhm.k12.al.us
    Apple Teacher
    ¡Hola! Me llamo Michael Shenk y enseño español en Carver High School. It's going to be a great year. ¡Vamos Rams!


    Bachelor of Arts in International Studies, Spanish Focus, December 2009
    Auburn University of Montgomery, Montgomery, AL
    Major: Spanish Languages and Literature

    Master's of Education in Foreign Language Education, May 2012
    Auburn University, Auburn, AL
    Major: Spanish Education

    Master's of Arts in Education in TESOL, August 2018
    The University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
    Major: Teaching English as a Second Language


    My name is Michael Shenk. I was born in Pennsylvania to military parents, so we traveled to many places and moved many times while I was in school. I've lived in Germany, Alabama, Tennessee, California, New York, Kansas, Texas, and Florida. I love teaching Spanish and I am currently learning French so that I can hopefully teach it in the future.